** IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT **

As of March 30th, COAC has suspended backcountry avalanche advisories and pro observations until further notice.

On March 23rd, Governor Brown of Oregon issued Stay at Home orders for the public regarding the COVID-19 outbreak. The directives are clear in that “to the maximum extent possible, individuals stay at home or in their place of residence.” On March 27th the Deschutes National Forest issued a closure of all developed recreation sites including trailheads and snoparks. COAC is committed to supporting our community, local emergency services, and agency partners and because of this we felt it important to cease operations as we all work together to minimize the impacts and spread of COVID-19.   

This decision was not taken lightly. Aside from the need to maintain congruency with the Governors' orders, there are inherent risks with backcountry activities in alpine environments and it’s important to consider unnecessary exposure to COAC forecasters, first responders, and local medical staff in light of the current situation.

We look forward to getting back into the mountains and providing you all with the tools to recreate safely in the backcountry. Until then we thank you for your continued support and wish all our mountain community the best of health and wellness.

Avalanche Advisories

This pages contains an archive of avalanche advisories issued by the Central Oregon Avalanche Center.

Advisory Forecaster Advisory Date
Snowpack Summary for 12/25/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, December 25, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 12/21/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, December 21, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 12/18/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 12/14/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, December 14, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 12/11/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 12/7/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, December 7, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 12/4/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 5/1/2018 Gabe Coler Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 4/28/2018 Gabe Coler Saturday, April 28, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 4/24/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 4/20/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, April 20, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 4/17/2018 Gabe Coler Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 4/13/2018 Aaron Hartz Friday, April 13, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 4/10/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 4/6/2018 Jonas Tarlen Sunday, April 8, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 4/3/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 3/30/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, March 30, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 3/27/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 3/23/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, March 23, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 3/20/2018 Gabe Coler Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 3/16/2018 Aaron Hartz Friday, March 16, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 3/13/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 3/11/2018 Gabe Coler Sunday, March 11, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 3/9/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, March 9, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 3/6/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 3/2/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, March 2, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 3/2/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, March 2, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 3/2/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, March 2, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 2/27/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, February 27, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 2/23/2018 Kevin Grove Saturday, February 24, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 2/20/2018 Jonas Tarlen Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 2/16/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, February 16, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 2/13/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 2/9/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, February 9, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 2/6/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, February 6, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 2/2/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, February 2, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 1/30/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 1/27/2018 Gabe Coler Saturday, January 27, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 1/26/2018 Gabe Coler Friday, January 26, 2018
Snowpack Summary for 1/23/2018 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, January 23, 2018