** IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT **

As of March 30th, COAC has suspended backcountry avalanche advisories and pro observations until further notice.

On March 23rd, Governor Brown of Oregon issued Stay at Home orders for the public regarding the COVID-19 outbreak. The directives are clear in that “to the maximum extent possible, individuals stay at home or in their place of residence.” On March 27th the Deschutes National Forest issued a closure of all developed recreation sites including trailheads and snoparks. COAC is committed to supporting our community, local emergency services, and agency partners and because of this we felt it important to cease operations as we all work together to minimize the impacts and spread of COVID-19.   

This decision was not taken lightly. Aside from the need to maintain congruency with the Governors' orders, there are inherent risks with backcountry activities in alpine environments and it’s important to consider unnecessary exposure to COAC forecasters, first responders, and local medical staff in light of the current situation.

We look forward to getting back into the mountains and providing you all with the tools to recreate safely in the backcountry. Until then we thank you for your continued support and wish all our mountain community the best of health and wellness.

Avalanche Advisories

This pages contains an archive of avalanche advisories issued by the Central Oregon Avalanche Center.

Advisory Forecaster Advisory Date
Avalanche Advisory for 4/26/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, April 26, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 4/23/2019 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 4/19/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, April 19, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 4/16/2019 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 4/12/2019 Jonas Tarlen Friday, April 12, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 4/9/2019 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 4/5/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, April 5, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 4/2/2019 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 3/29/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, March 29, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 3/26/2019 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 3/23/2019 Gabe Coler Saturday, March 23, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 3/22/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, March 22, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 3/20/2019 Aaron Hartz Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 3/15/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, March 15, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 3/15/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, March 15, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 3/12/2019 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 3/12/2019 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 3/8/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, March 8, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 3/6/2019 Aaron Hartz Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 3/1/2019 Jonas Tarlen Friday, March 1, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 2/26/2019 Jonas Tarlen Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 2/22/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, February 22, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 2/20/2019 Aaron Hartz Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 2/15/2019 Aaron Hartz Saturday, February 16, 2019
Avalanche Advisory for 2/12/2019 Aaron Hartz Thursday, February 14, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 2/9/2019 Gabe Coler Saturday, February 9, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 2/8/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, February 8, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 2/5/2019 Aaron Hartz Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 2/1/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, February 1, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 1/29/2019 Gabe Coler Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 1/25/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, January 25, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 1/22/2019 Aaron Hartz Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 1/19/2019 Gabe Coler Sunday, January 20, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 1/18/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, January 18, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 1/15/2019 Aaron Hartz Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 1/11/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, January 11, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 1/8/2019 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 1/4/2019 Gabe Coler Friday, January 4, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 1/1/2019 Aaron Hartz Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Snowpack Summary for 12/28/2018 Gabe Coler Saturday, December 29, 2018